Real life stories of people who made their passions their professions.

Among all the American consultants that I have mentioned in my links, previous posts and articles. I have found both the life story and work of Craig Nathanson the most inspiring. Co-sufferers have defined the wrong occupation as “spiritual suicide” and “lifetime imprisonment”. Craig, more than anybody else has made the career transition process(studies show that it can take anything between three to five years)seem smoother if not easier.

Among the numerous comments to my previous posts that I have recd so far, I don’t recall reading a single optimistic comment regarding career transition’s feasibility is . Most people say that they agree with me but beyond a stage, compromise becomes inevitable.

I have always been of the view that career consultants are happiness counsellors since a majority of time is spent at work. I feel that Craig, more than anybody else lives upto that description. He has also been kind enough to share the inspiring stories of many of his clients. Before we proceed to that, let’s have his life story from the great man himself (extract from his webstie):-

“After 25 years in Corporate America being good at what I did, but never liking it, I walked away. I walked away from faceless products, faceless bosses and pointless meetings. Over the next 4 years, I pursued my life’s passion — helping others of my age find the will and the strength to pursue their own passions. This change has given me peace and joy because I am now living my life with authenticity and integrity, and I am now being true to who I really am. But this change did not come without a price.I had to give up my million dollar house and I ended up in bankruptcy. The best I could afford was a 400 square foot, one bedroom apartment. Living an authentic life also meant that I could no longer stay in my lifeless and abusive marriage. As you can imagine, this was a very difficult time and there were days I wasn’t sure that I would be able to feed my kids. I remember once trying to find a pawn shop to sell my wedding ring to buy food. But we grew closer as a family and we had many fun-filled pizza and popcorn nights at home on the floor (no furniture!). Although I didn’t plan for this extreme situation, I did want to teach my kids a lesson about life and authenticity and what it meant to have integrity. Will you go homeless or die?You probably won’t die but you may have to re-define what homeless means. Following your vocational passion is not easy. It may be the hardest thing you will ever do.

I had days with no money, no gas and little food for the kids to eat. Yet somehow, someway, I always managed to come through when it counted.Even as I went through this time of crisis, I wrote and published a book, started a private practice, and started teaching, speaking and creating CDs and other products all targeted at those over 40.

My father’s suicide not long after his retirement just served to strengthen my belief that we all should be doing what we love. If he had found and pursued his life’s passion, perhaps he would still be alive today.One of the things that got me through was my deep belief in my new life mission: that the world would be a better place if we all did what we love.

I second that wholeheartedly since a majority of waking time is spent at work.

The link of the inspiring real life stories that Craig has helped are:-

Real life examples from Craig Nathanson

Craig has also been kind enough to share his numerous stimulating writeups:-

Interesting articles from Craig Nathanson

I have suggested in my previous posts that if the United States has such a serious problem, India with its huge population and lack of resources is bound to be worse. Where are the Craig Nathanson’s of India? For that matter, where are the real life stories of India?
We have had enough of theory and from next post onwards, I am going to try and feature Indian examples. Contributions are welcome.

10 Responses to Real life stories of people who made their passions their professions.

  1. Michelle says:

    I found your articles inspiring. It is extremely difficult to change career paths at a certain point in life. I have been considering a transition for over 5 years now. In retrospect, I wish I would have taken that step back then, but I always managed to convince myself that I should just tough it out for another 10 to 15 years ! Finding the courage and support to pursue my passion and vocation seems almost impossible. Why is that? Well, one must consider success, family stability and financial security first…right? That’s the message I’ve been receiving from people in my trust circle. Have they not noticed the sadness in my eyes? Every time I mention that I’m thinking of change, someone always says: …”but you’re so successful at what you do…why would you give that up?” I’m good at what I do, but I’m unhappy. Imagine how successful I would be doing something that I feel more passionate about !

  2. Luis says:

    Wow. Very inspirational.

  3. Michelle says:

    I wrote back in October about wanting to make a change and guess what…? I had the courage to leave that secure job…I took the step. I shocked everyone around me…but to my surprise ended up having support from the people who seemed the most insecure and unsupportive before. This transition has brought confidence and happiness into my heart and a smile on my face! I have no regrets and more positive changes are starting to occur in my life on a daily basis. Believe in yourself and follow your heart…that’s what I have to say…today!

  4. tashi chaturvedi says:

    too gud………..highly motivational

  5. amit says:

    Hi. Nice post. I was wondering whether you went on to gather the real-life Indian stories on this topic. I am doing a story on this. Can you pl help. My e mail is amit.stephanian@gmail.com

  6. Ruma says:

    Hi ,

    The story is truely inspiring , but yes . It defenitly has its own practical aspects . There are many in this world who need these Real life stories to move ahead in life . As of my own I moved , on …on my own when I too faced a situation like this , when I was almost in the verge of extinction . But toady after five years I am proud to say that I have handled it with utmost maturity and strong will power . And thus believe that anyone can …… Regards

  7. One needn’t be an employee to understand the shift that has taken place in modern thinking as regards job satisfaction. The very paragon of management genius, Peter Drucker, won’t need to be persuaded to rise from the grave and give his unreserved endorsement to the fact that modern employees are motivated by a lot more than money or perks. An inner voice tells me that high pay and lavish benefits are not the in-thing with most employees. Yesterday’s in-thing became today’s out-thing. Look at the rise of social entrepreneurs, for instance. In any case I am convinced that without a mission or cause that centers you, you will not survive long in today’s unique work environment.

  8. Estate says:

    my profession is my passion

  9. I wish I have the guts to do what you did. I admire you. This is really a nice and inspiring story. Thanks!

  10. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give one thing again and aid others such as you aided me.

Leave a Reply

